Executive Editor

Dr. Joseph Hupy, Polytechnic Institute, Purdue University

Managing Editor

Mary M. Fink, School of Aviation & Transportation Technology, Purdue University

Associate Editors

Erin E. Bowen, Department of Safety Science, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University - Prescott

C. Daniel Prather, Department of Aviation Science, California Baptist University

Alan J. Stolzer, Department of Doctoral Studies, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

Editorial Board

Ruwantissa Abeyratne, International Civil Aviation Organization, Montreal, Canada

Evon Abu-taieh, Civil Aviation Regulatory Commission, Amman, Jordan

Brent D. Bowen, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

Frederick D. Hansen, Oklahoma State University

Dean E. Headley, Wichita State University

Igor V. Kabashkin, Transport and Telecommunications Institute, Riga, Latvia

Swami Karunamoorthy, Washington University in St. Louis

Hatice Küçükönal, Ozyegin University, Istanbul, Turkey

Mike Lavelle, The Museum of Flight

Damon Lercel, Purdue University

Jackie Luedtke, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

David A. NewMyer, Southern Illinois University

I. Richmond Nettey, Kent State University

William L. Rankin, The Boeing Company

Bijan Vasigh, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

John G. Wensveen, Airline Visions, LLC

Biographical Information

Dr. Joseph Hupy

Dr. Joseph Hupy is an associate professor in the Purdue University Polytechnic Institute. Dr. Hupy serves as Executive Editor of the Journal of Aviation Technology & Engineering.

Mary M. Fink

Mary Fink serves as Managing Editor of the Journal of Aviation Technology and Engineering. In addition to this role at Purdue University, she is a lecturer and academic programs consultant for the School of Aviation & Transportation Technology. A summa cum laude graduate of the University of Nebraska at Omaha, Mrs. Fink holds both Master's and Bachelor’s degrees in Public Administration with an aviation concentration. Previously Mrs. Fink served as the managing editor for the Journal of Air Transportation. Areas in which she has been published include transportation leadership, workforce development, Native American outreach, collegiate aviation distance education, and pre-crisis planning. She also served as coordinator of the NASA Nebraska Space Grant and EPSCoR programs and was an assistant to the National Space Grant Alliance. Mrs. Fink has taught courses such as General Aviation Operations, Aviation Writing and other capstone and independent study courses, and is an FAA-licensed pilot.

Erin E. Bowen

Dr. Erin Bowen (previously Dr. Erin Block) has multiple areas of expertise including aviation psychology, human performance and safety in aviation maintenance and high-consequence industries, and team performance and facilitation. In addition, she provides training and education in the application of advanced statistical techniques to organizational settings, particularly advanced confirmatory factor analytic and structural equation modeling techniques. Her research and expertise has been featured in several national and international news outlets.

Dr. Bowen is a founder of the interdisciplinary Purdue University Applied Human Factors Research Laboratory, which is focused on bringing expertise from psychology, aviation, and other industries to understand and improve the human component of high consequence and high technology organizations. She is a member of the Association for Aviation Psychology, the Society for Industrial & Organizational Psychology, the American Psychological Association, University Aviation Association, and American Mensa, Ltd.

C. Daniel Prather

Dr. Daniel Prather, A.A.E. is currently the Founding Chair of Aviation Science at California Baptist University (CBU). In this position, he is responsible for developing the nation’s newest collegiate aviation program, including developing curriculum, recruiting students and faculty, and marketing the program. Prior to joining CBU, Dr. Prather served for six years as Associate Professor of Aerospace at Middle Tennessee State University (MTSU). He served as Assistant Director of Operations at Tampa International Airport (TPA) for eight years prior to joining MTSU. Dr. Prather also serves as an adjunct faculty member in the Master of Commercial Aviation program at Delta State University (DSU). Dr. Prather has authored a textbook entitled General Aviation Marketing and Management: Operating, Marketing, and Managing an FBO.

Dr. Prather is an Accredited Airport Executive through the American Association of Airport Executives (AAAE) and an instrument-rated private pilot. He actively serves the industry by being a participating member of the AAAE Academic Relations Committee and the National Business Aviation Association (NBAA) Professional Development Program (PDP) Review Committee. He is a trainer for the American Association of Airport Executives, regularly serves on various industry panels, conducts research for the Transportation Research Board, and is the Principal of Prather Airport Solutions, Inc., an airport and collegiate aviation consulting firm, and owner of Aviation Training Solutions, an airport and business aviation training firm.

Alan J. Stolzer

Dr. Stolzer has more than 25 years of experience in academic administration positions, and is currently chair and professor in the Department of Doctoral Studies at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University’s Daytona Beach campus. Stolzer teaches Safety Management Systems in ERAU’s Ph.D. in Aviation program and facilitates the residency experiences for the doctoral students. He is an active researcher, and is currently the principal investigator on two federally-funded grants related to aviation safety. Stolzer was the lead author on Safety Management Systems in Aviation published by Ashgate Publications in 2008; a second book focused on SMS implementation will be published in 2011.

Dr. Stolzer holds a Ph.D. in Quality Systems from Indiana State University, an ATP, CFI, and an A&P from the FAA, and several other professional certifications from ASQ and PMI. Stolzer is currently serving on the Board of Trustees of the Aviation Accreditation Board International and is chair of its accreditation committee.