The Society of Engineering Science (SES) Technical Meeting is held annually to foster and promote the exchange of ideas and information among the various disciplines of engineering and the fields of physics, chemistry, mathematics, bioengineering, and related scientific and engineering fields. The 2014 SES 51st Annual Technical Meeting will be hosted by Purdue University located on the banks of the Wabash River in West Lafayette, Indiana. Purdue is a major engineering research university with many highly ranked engineering programs. It enjoys both a long history and tradition, as well as a vibrant research community with many outstanding facilities for teaching and research. The initial Founder’s Meeting of the Society of Engineering Science was held at Purdue approximately 50 years ago, demonstrating Purdue University’s strong connection to SES from its very beginning. Holding the 2014 Annual Technical Meeting of SES on the campus of Purdue University would bring the organization back to its roots, thereby providing both a historical perspective as well as the opportunity for discussions on cutting edge research in the engineering sciences.

This SES Technical Meeting aims to convene a diverse and interdisciplinary group of leading researchers in all engineering, mathematics and science disciplines. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, mechanics of structural materials; dynamic behavior of materials; mechanics of thin films, soft and composite materials; nanostructures and microelectronic materials; energy storage and energy harvesting; geomechanics and geololgical materials; computational methods in solid and fluid mechanics; materials design; mechanics of biological materials at tissue, cell and molecular levels; microfluidics; rheology; animal, cell and bacterial mobility; and mechanics education.

The organizers and editors for this year's conference were:

  • Anil Bajaj - William E. & Florence E. Perrey Head of Mechanical Engineering; Alpha P. Jamison Professor of Mechanical Engineering. Purdue University. SES Conference Chair
  • Pablo Zavattieri, School of Civil Engineering. Purdue University. SES Conference Secretary
  • Marisol Koslowski, School of Mechanical Engineering, Purdue University. SES Conference Technical Program Co-Chair
  • Thomas Siegmund, School of Mechanical Engineering, Purdue University. SES Conference Tecnical Program Co-Chair

Browse the contents of Society of Engineering Science 51st Annual Technical Meeting:

Mechanics of Solids & Structures
Mechanics in Material Science
Mechanics of Fluids and Thermal Systems
Honors Symposium
Engineering Science in Education
Dynamics and Controls
Biological and Biomimetic